Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: Just bought 2003 serk  (Read 2873 times)

Stormer

• FLHRSEI.ORG
Just bought 2003 serk
« on: June 19, 2006, 11:44:16 AM »

Im new to this sight, so hi to all. I just purchased this 2003 serk 4300 miles and completely stock, no pipes, no download no nothing. Stock its one heck of an upgrade from my warmed over 98 heritage classic. As i am a bit of a motor head yet i would like to trump up the sound. and anything i can do to pep it up withou pulling the motor apart. This is my first efi bike and im enjoying the starting procedure etc, as in turn the key warm up ride.
my question to anyone who would care to help, i would like to do the externals, so my question is, which slip ons for the right sound without hurting performance, right now i cant even hear it run or must i do the complete pipe thing, which air cleaner kit, and how and where should i go about the download thing to compensate for these changes,. this bike will be under warranty til 2010, i dont want to screw that up.

CVOJOE

• 2.5K CVO Member
  • Life's a journey, why not enjoy the ride?
Re: Just bought 2003 serk
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2006, 01:06:24 PM »

Welcome to the site! You'll get lots of good sound technical advice, and of course lots of recommendations on how to spend you hard earned money. Here's a shopping list to wake up the stock 103" beast:
1. Install K&N, Arlen Ness, or Zippers air filter.
2. Exhaust: Rinehart True Duals, Freedom, or even the Screamin Eagle's (not SE II's), (p/n 65115-98B if you can find them), or maybe Vance and Hines. Be sure they're designed to handle the 103" engine output.
3. EFI: Install Power Commander, or use the Screamin Eagle Race Tuner kit.
4. If you don't go with Pwr Cmdr, have dealership do the EFI download for your mods, and that'll also increase the rev limit to 6200 RPM.